North Carolina Opportunity Scholarship and ESA+ Priority Applications Close March 1, 2024

Submit your Opportunity or ESA+ Scholarship application(s) by March 1! Incomplete applications will not be included in the scholarship lottery.   For further assistance visit MyPortal Frequently Asked Questions or call: 855-330-3955, M-Th (8am-6pm), F (8am-5pm). *Extended hours Thursday, 2/29 until 7:00 p.m. and Friday, 3/1 until 6:00 p.m.
Skip to main content

Board of Directors

NCSEAA Board of Directors

The State Education Assistance Authority is a political subdivision of the State, governed by a nine-member Board of Directors.  Members are appointed for terms of four years, with the exceptions of the Chief Financial Officers of the University of North Carolina and the North Carolina Community College Systems, who serve ex officio per State law.

The NCSEAA Board of Directors holds regular meetings twice per year, typically in the spring and the fall, with occasional special meetings called as needed to address time-sensitive matters.  All meetings are managed in accordance with the Authority’s By-laws and State Open Meetings law and are also posted on the Public Meetings Calendar located on the Secretary of State’s website.


The North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority Board of Directors will meet in regular fall session on Monday, October 23, 2023, beginning at 1:00 p.m. in the Stan Broadway Boardroom.  Please contact Andrea Poole via email at at least four hours in advance for meeting access information.

Note: Portions of this meeting may be conducted in closed session pursuant to State law.


James O. Roberts, Chair

Jamie A. Applequist, Vice Chair

Beth Anderson

Catherine Edmonds

Jennifer H. Haygood, ex officio

W. Rita Jerman

Phillip Price, ex officio

Jim Rose

Janet L. Williams